Knowledge Structure

The BIM Excellence Initiative is built upon a clear structure for harvesting and organising knowledge. This 'Knowledge Structure' is composed of five pillars (referred to as Knowledge Sets) that support all the work delivered through BIMe Initiative Projects. The below image is a summary of the five Knowledge Sets and their many components:

BIMe Knowledge Sets

Knowledge Foundations

The conceptual structures that enable the generation of tools, templates and similar deliverables of practical use.

Foundations include Frameworks, Models, Taxonomies, Classifications, Terms, and all types of Ontologies.

Knowledge Blocks

The units of structured information that are used in tools and workflows and can be combined into larger units (Learn More).

Knowledge Tools

The instruments for sharing knowledge, assessing adoption, delivering learning materials, and managing lifecycle information.

Knowledge Workflows

The methods and activity maps enabling the consistent capture, organisation, and sharing of knowledge, information, and data.

Knowledge Views

The custom representations of knowledge, information, and data to match stakeholder requirements.